She Said What??!!!

Listen at me over here hollerin'

Farai Chideya…

leave a comment »

My friend, mentor, writing buddy, and occasional sparring partner, Farai Chideya,

Farai Chideya

Farai Chideya

has a new book coming out: KISS THE SKY. This is her first novel-length fiction book, and it joins her non-fiction socio-political masterpieces, Trust, The Color of Our Future and Don’t Believe the Hype: Fighting Cultural Misinformation About African Americans. Farai is in the fabulous Finish Party with me.  We met through the group, but another great friend of mine, Van Jones, had been trying to get us together for years.  (Now that Van’s in DC I’ll probably do a post or two about the amazing work he’s doing another day, “Yay, Van”!)  Farai’s last incarnation was host of News and Notes, the now-defunct show on NPR which reported on happenings in the African American community.

The book is a real kick.  You get some insider music biz buzz, some crazy outlandish antics, and soap opera storylines wrapped up in the 90s music scene.  And she did some kick ass playlists for the end of the book, including some originals which she’s going to make available on the website shortly!!!  I can’t wait. Her lyrics are powerful and melodic.  I’m jealous.  I write some poetry, but not enough rhythm to rock the song lyricism.

The book drops on May 12 and she’s going to have book parties all over the US.  I’m going to the one here in LA, and I think I’m going to talk the hubby into a mini-vacay for the one in New York or Miami. If I can figure out how to upload pix from my phone I’ll post those too.

Anyway, I’m going to start updating the blog more frequently starting next month.  I have been on deadline for a few things and still need a few more days….

Written by Alyss Dixson

April 29, 2009 at 12:14 am

Leave a Reply

