She Said What??!!!

Listen at me over here hollerin'

Beautiful Voices….

leave a comment »

I spend a lot (i.e. way too much) time surfing the internet.  Same old story of procrastination and compulsion meeting up with ADHD and broadband access.  LOL.  Anyway, one of the ways that I justify myself is when I find stuff like this:  Open Book TV.  Aaaaaaahhhhh.  A new program on a new channel I’ve never heard of (did I mention I also love TV?) DEVOTED to my other love, BOOKS!!!  I’m in heaven. Now if I could watch and download via iTunes I’d be completely D.O.N.E.  LOL.

This new show chooses a location, pulls together a group of artists and then has those artists read from the work of authors who wrote/lived/imagined in those areas.  Love it!!!  Scraps of images tethered with music and montage.  Heaven.  The first one I watched is Jeffrey Wright reading Walt Whitman’s Crossing Brooklyn Ferry.  I got all misty-eyed.  The sound edit could’ve been a little more complex and the levels were all over the place, but aside from that, gorgeous.

(I hope that link up there works, I can’t figure out if I’m embedding correctly.  After much tinkering and careful reading success!!)

A few years ago, a friend of mine, Sharifa Johka, started a non-profit called AFRICAN VOICES. I’m totally going to suggest to her that we do something like this for the site.  See?  Sometimes I really am working when I’m digging around on this thing…. ;-)~

Written by Alyss Dixson

May 14, 2009 at 9:00 pm

Leave a Reply

