She Said What??!!!

Listen at me over here hollerin'

Writers Junction in the LA Times

with 2 comments

Came in to work on the book today and saw this wonderful article in the LA Times about the space where I write, the Writers Junction.  Of course, the picture in the print edition shows me hard at “work” with my crap spread all over the desk. LOL.

I love groan-inducing puns, especially visual ones — they are the main reason I love shows like The Simpsons and Family Guy — so when I flipped the paper open to the article and saw me sitting there, remembered how frustrated I was that day working through the dreaded Chapter 8 of the novel, and then noticed I was underneath a picture of a gun, I about fell out. Get it? I’m “under the gun”? *nudge* *nudge* *wink* *wink*

I’m promising myself to get through a draft of Chapter 10 today no matter how ugly it turns out. I have time to make things “purdy” later. Like when the entire draft is complete. I also write screenplays and I have learned the hard way that the only draft that matters is the completed one. I try not to let myself get to compulsive about ‘fixes’ because that’s just an endless process and at least half the time, the work has a meta-issue that needs to be resolved before any local adjustments will work. I try to always question whether or not I’m simply “rearranging deck chairs on the Titanic” with something, or if it’s a legitimate issue that has to be addressed before I can continue composing.

I’m really pushing hard to get the book completely drafted in the next 10 days and it’s STRESSFUL. The deadline is entirely self-imposed which makes it more real for me. I have a great schedule for getting the book revised and out to agents and in order to stick to it, I’ve got to write every single day until the middle of the summer. Very doable, just have to manage the mental health.  Another reason working out of the collaborative space has been such a blessing. I’m not the only self-motivated person here. Almost every one is a freelancer or working on a project that is near and dear to his/her heart, so there are none of those comments like, “that must be so hard, how do you keep going?” Those kinds of existential questions can lead me into a spiral of procrastination like nobody’s business, so, honoring that I’m easily distracted, I try to surround myself by people who know what the writing thing is about…. That said, back to work!

** UPDATE** Eileen over at WJ blog just added the pic from the print edition that shows me “working”. More like trying not to cry over Chapter 8!

Written by Alyss Dixson

March 26, 2010 at 8:02 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I LOVE this picture. Just like old times. Actually….

    JG

    November 16, 2010 at 6:40 am

    • Yeah, I loved when the Junction was just the few of us. Hopefully all the new members will finance an upgrade on the free joe. 🙂

      alyssdixson

      November 17, 2010 at 8:47 pm


Leave a Reply

