She Said What??!!!

Listen at me over here hollerin'

WILLA: WOMEN IN LETTERS AND LITERARY ARTS

leave a comment »

I’m so proud and excited to be working with Cate Marvin and WILLA. I’ve been isolated from the larger literary community since I started working on my novel and was introduced to Cate through ZZ Packer, the woman who founded my fabulous, beloved writing group, The Finish Party. ZZ is a master at building and maintaining community so I knew Cate and WILLA were going to be something special, and it is.

I met with Cate and Susan Steinberg in New York last month. We had noodles and intense conversation just off Union Square. I meant to take a picture of them because they were fierce, but the weather seduced me and I ended up with this one instead.

These ladies are AMBITIOUS. And rightfully so, after 2008’s Democratic primary with Hillary Clinton declaring there were 18 million cracks in the glass ceiling, and the oh-so-cynical elevation of Sarah Palin and Michelle Bachmann by the right, it’s clear that Woman-Power is coming into its own. The time is NOW (to steal a pun from the WILLA Facebook page). I’m excited to be a part such a dynamic group of women who are really into GETTING THINGS DONE, which I’m also way into doing.

Over the next few months I hope to be contributing as much labor as I can to get WILLA rolling, providing whatever background coordinating and ideas are useful, as well as writing on the site. I have a series of interviews coming up in June (I believe, but the editorial calendar is still being adjusted) that will post on the site, and I also hope to start podcasting thru this site, but probably about related to me stuff. Trying to find a good microphone now.

Anyway, more later.

Written by Alyss Dixson

April 17, 2010 at 7:50 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

