She Said What??!!!

Listen at me over here hollerin'

Searching for Inspiration

leave a comment »

I’m at a dead halt with the novel… not for lack of wanting to write, or pages for that matter. Lord knows I’ve spun out reams of outline trying to recast the ending…, no, right now I’m trying to remember what was so damned exciting about writing a novel in the first place. Wouldn’t becoming surf instructor have been more fun? And better for my silhouette?

I found this essay on the NEA website and thought I’d share a bit that helped me get a paragraph out before the darkness crowded back in.  Now I’m off to make some cookies or eat that Ben and Jerry’s Red Velvet ice cream I bought for just such a time….

National Initiatives: Operation Homecoming – Essays on Writing

In the end, writing is like a prison, an island from which you will never be released but which is a kind of paradise: the solitude, the thoughts, the incredible joy of putting into words the essence of what you for the moment understand and with your whole heart want to believe.

Written by Alyss Dixson

September 23, 2011 at 10:01 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

