She Said What??!!!

Listen at me over here hollerin'

The Greatest Love of All

leave a comment »

Ms. Whitney Houston. Damn. She was just a baby. I have so many good times and rough times that were made better through her art. Her struggles were incomprehensible to me, but I prayed for her. Especially after that interview with Barbara Walters that felt like Blaxploitation. To honor the memory of her that I want to tell my children about, I have to go all the way back, back, back… to the 80s. I was a young girl living in Portland, Oregon. Black, Japanese in a city that had so few of either being both put me in population of exactly four families. At the time, I didn’t realize I was looking for a role model, but when I heard the lyrics to this song, I realized I could be my own role model and, to this day, when I’m struggling to make my way as an artist in a world that sometimes makes me feel like I have an audience of about 20 (Thank God for the rise of Blasian culture!), I still hum this song to myself. Thanks, Whitney. I hope you are indeed, resting. In Peace.

Written by Alyss Dixson

February 12, 2012 at 2:33 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

